Supernatural meta, reviews & fic recs

Put the Scary Back in Sexy

Remember when Supernatural was scary? When reapers were silent, relentless and creepy? When angels turned out to be vengeful spirits playing God? When the King of Hell tainted an infant’s blood, created and manipulated and army of special children, possessed John Winchester and used him to torment Dean?

Sam and Dean used to spend half their time in open graves, creepy basements, and abandoned factories. They fought vengeful spirits, vampires, angels, demons, djinn … you name it, they got bloody fighting it. These days Sam and Dean spend most of their time in tailored suits interviewing people and the rest tussling with angels, but even that has become old hat.

Reapers are just another kind of douchebag angel, angels like Naomi are bureaucrats, monsters like Dick Roman are just corporate sharks, and the King of Hell is a salesman. Our only hope for scary seems to be Abaddon. I actually find myself rooting for her, and I wonder what has become of our show.

Maybe I’m alone in this, but I doubt it. I want the scary back.

7 responses

  1. WinchesterMoon

    I miss those old days. I’m tired of Heaven and Hell quite frankly.

    October 29, 2013 at 10:36 am

    • As am I. It seems like the same old thing over and over. The angels aren’t new anymore, so they’re just boring.

      October 30, 2013 at 9:27 am

  2. I do miss the days when one angel was a big deal, before everyone got an angel blade and their kryptonite, STREET ART, was all over the place.

    I was just thinking along similar lines about the villains. Crowley, while awesome, is rather mundane as villains go. He’s not a cackling madman, and most of the conflicts he’s had with Team W has been driven by Team W. Like, if they weren’t pushing so hard on the Demon Tablet, he’d have less incentive to attack them.

    I’ve also never gotten the sense that Crowley wanted to take over the world. He already seems to have a huge influence over the world (Moon Landing), and doesn’t have any MUAHAUA APOCOLYPSE or DESTROY HEAVEN plans. Frankly, I think Crowley likes the status quo, which is fine, but definitely makes him much less a super villain.

    October 29, 2013 at 10:51 am

    • I agree. I like Crowley in his snarky way, but he isn’t scary. He can be. His attack on Jody and Sarah showed that he does have teeth but he rarely bites, and you’re right, he seems to like the status quo. I don’t mind that actually. There’s something to be said for the idea that evil and good balance one another. In that way, Crowley isn’t a villain anymore than Castiel is a force for “good.” It’s those at the extreme — Azazel, Lucifer, Abaddon on one side and Michael, Zachariah, Uriel, Raphael, Naomi, Bartholomew at the other — who are villains.

      October 30, 2013 at 9:32 am

  3. nancy

    OM Chuck, I completely agree. Watched ‘Hunted’ on TNT this morning and I loved it. Then I wondered, what happened to THAT Supernatural. What happened to salt and burns? What happened to the ‘family business’? What happened to the dark? Now we have A LOT of day scenes and a lot of talking and little action. What happened to the monsters that were scary and the demons that were evil?

    Crowley was evil but now? Now he is just furniture. I agree, I love Abaddon and hope that she kills Crowley and all the angels. I am so tired of ALL the angels. FU Kripke, you lied to us.

    yep, I am still bitter about the writer’s strike that took away Powers!Sam from getting Dean out of his deal or out of Hell. THAT would have kept SPN being the SPN that we first fell in love with. Hmm, Boy KIng and his beloved big brother getting rid of evil. **sigh**

    October 29, 2013 at 12:50 pm

  4. Grean

    I agree and I too am hoping Abbadon wreaks some Supernatural havoc. So much so that her threats to Dean are more exciting to me than have me worried for my boy. The same with Sam’s housing an angel unwittingly. That is icky scary and hopefully going to get more so. Give us some real dark.

    October 29, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    • Yes, absolutely. I want to see Sam and Dean fighting villains instead of each other all the time.

      October 30, 2013 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

